The HACSI Girl Scout Method

I always appreciate when people make dessert to go along with dinner. The thing is, it takes A LOT of time and energy to plan, prep, cook, and clean up after dinner for the whole co-op. Though I’d love to regularly make dessert, it just so rarely happens.

Enter: the HACSI Girl Scout Method (TM). (Not really TM.)

This weekend I bought some marshmallows and graham crackers. We have a great big jar filled with chocolate chips in our pantry. Do you see where I’m going with this?

Heck yes, oven s’mores! Graham crackers split in half with chocolate chips and marshmallows on top. Baked in the oven at 400 for 9 minutes. (Could’ve gone a bit more to make them more browned, but I was afraid I’d burn them.)

Still slightly browned and totally gooey.

I even used a few of eliz’s fancy vegan marshmallows so she could get in on the s’more action. I put her chocolate chips on top so we could tell them apart (and made a little tin foil wall to protect them from gelatin-bearing marshmallow goo). The vegan marshmallows changed way less than the standard ones…science!

These were a really nice half-assed treat on this feeling like summer evening. (In case you’re curious, the s’mores followed a dinner of sesame and edamame buckwheat noodles with baked tofu and a lemony raw kale salad with carrots, beets, and snap peas.) I wonder if I can challenge myself to find other easy recipes to make dessert seem more possible?

Leave a Reply

